John D. Batten: Snowdrop and the seven little men

Snowdrop and the Seven Little Men: John D. Batten

Snowdrop and the Seven Little Men is an 1897 painting by English painter John D. Batten depicting Snowdrop from the Brothers Grimm book Snow White. Batten, and illustrator for books himself painted a number of works depicting literary characters. Snow White was first published in 1812 some 85 years prior to this painting being completed.

This was the first of a number of paintings Batten created using the medieval technique of using egg tempura rather than modern oil paint.

John D. Batten’s Snowdrop and the Seven Little Men is in the Art Gallery of New South Wales in Sydney, Australia.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *