Hieronymus Bosch

Hieronymus Bosch

Hieronymus Bosch (c.1450—1516) was an artist of the era of Early Dutch painting, distinguished by a dark vision of life and religion.

Hieronymus Bosch Summary

  • Born in the region of Brabant, from Dutch and German roots, he lived all of his life there
  • Most of his life is obscure and no writings of his have been found
  • Only 25 paintings and 8 drawings are confidently attributed to his sole authorship
  • Painted mainly triptychs, of which The Garden of Earthly Delights is world-famous
  • Worked mainly on oak panels, a fact which has enabled dendrochronological dating of his work
  • His gloomy vision of the world has been newly appreciated in the 20th century

Hieronymus Bosch’s Famous Paintings

  • Ecce Homo (c. 1485)
  • The Crucifixion of St Julia (c. 1497)
  • The Adoration of the Magi (c. 1500)
  • The Garden of Earthly Delights (c. 1505)
  • Christ Carrying the Cross (c. 1505)
  • The Last Judgement (c. 1505)
  • The Temptation of St. Anthony (c. 1510)
  • Hell and the Flood (c. 1514)
  • Visions of the Hereafter (by 1515)
  • The Haywain Triptych (c. 1516)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *